Love is the way

Love is the way

 

Once I lay in darkness, I Let it consume me, and as time went by the pain just passed right through me. But then one day you came from the shadows of a forgotten time and on that fateful day I felt the goodness rise again. We were once against each other, fighting one another, but no matter how hard I pushed you away, or how bad things became you never gave up on me. In you I saw myself as the one I used to be, though you I found my way, even though I’d given it up long ago, I saw my path unfold once more as I looked into your eyes. You are savior, now and forever, you rescued me and I will protect you no matter how far you go. I’ve had my day, I’ve seen the light in the darkness, I’ve been reborn and so I say that love is the way. I’ve had my say, I’ve lived my way, it’s been my day, love is the way. I will watch you always, I will be there to protect you from the dangers that come and pull you from the deepest hole. Without you I know I’d be lost forever, so no matter what you do I will always be standing beside you, and if you should ever lose your way I will be there to find you. I’ve had my day, and now I stand here and say that love is the way. I hid myself from the world and became an empty shell and the day you came into my life I knew you’d seen right through me, you came into my darkness and rekindled the light. You penetrated the shadows that I’d cloaked myself in, you saved me from the evil and retrieved the good I’d forgotten was inside me, you helped me find what I had lost and brought me into safety. I’ve had my day, I’ve been around and back again, I may have strayed, but now I stand here and say that love is the way. Now times have changed, but you are still with me, I don’t know how you could ever forgive me, but I look to the heavens above and thank the one in charge for bringing you into my life on that long ago day. Through you I found my way, and now I stand here and say that love is the way.

Breanna Cardinal

 

Leave a Reply

