Five Seconds

Everything can change

in five seconds.

 

I remember the first time I saw you.

I lived my whole life in a separate orbit until then.

 

But now that our paths have crossed,

our lives intersected,

 

same room,

same time,

 

I see you,

you see me,

 

I am fundamentally different,

chemically altered.

 

My eyes are HD.

My ears can hear ants marching.

.

My brain spins like a washing machine,

full of bubbles and chaos.

 

You smile at me and

my heart has an orgasm.

 

I start to walk toward you,

stumbling happily

 

like a toddler learning to run.

Then he steps to your side,

 

puts his arm around your waist.

You turn to kiss him hello.

 

In five seconds,

everything can change.

 

 

Copyright Tim D.

2 thoughts on “Five Seconds

  1. I don’t trust love that happens this fast, but I do so like your description, i.e. “My eyes are HD.

    My ears can hear ants marching.” Great description, great poem!

    Like

Leave a Reply

