Elevator Chat, Part II

Elevator Chat
Part 3

-J: “Hey! You are a like a ghost in this building. I never see much of you around here”.

-M: “Yeah…I guess I’ve been busy, in and out. But…anyway…you smell good today. What are you wearing?”

-J: “Not a thing… it’s my ‘natural scent'”.

-M: “Ok. Who is being the smarty pants now?”

– J: “I am just playing your game babe”.

– M: “Ah…how did we go from being perfect strangers to you calling me ‘babe’? For all I know you are Lowertown’s Serial Killer. It takes one to know one”.

-J: “Wait, are you suggesting that you are a serial killer?”

-M: “In my younger days…but I retired and got away with it”.

-J: “So, what do you do when you feel like killing again?”

-M: “I contemplate my bone-collection. It’s quite therapeutic, actually…”.

-J: “Wild and creepy imagination…haha, this should be a red flag about you but for some reason the combination doesn’t bother me. But listen, Ms. Serial Killer: You are “killing” me over here. We are far from being perfect strangers. This is our forth time sharing elevators since I first met you in the parking ramp on Memorial Day. I basically begged you to help you carry boxes to our floor and we shared stories about Gull Lake…Nisswa…family and food. Wasn’t that like a ‘moment’? We even live on the same floor. That says destiny to me”.

– M: “I see. So if you are calling me ‘babe’, what should I call you?

-J: “How about: ‘Your date on Saturday night?’”.
______________________

Elevator Chat
Part 4

-J: “Hey”.

-M: “Hi, how are you?”

-J: “-Good –good. Where you working out?”

-M: “Yes, I just came from Zumba”

-J: “Zzuuuumbaaa. What’s that? Ha-Ha, just kidding babe, I know what it is. So, listen…are we still on for tomorrow?”

-M: “Yes. What are we doing?”

-J: “That’s for me to know and for you to…”

-M: “Look at you Mr. smarty-pants…how fast we learn.  I thought we were actually having a normal conversation for once…”

-J: “We are. I was just going to say…That’s for me to know and for you to… witness”

-M: “And not to participate?”

-J: “Off course…to experiment”.

-M: “Like a lab rat?”

-J: “Whaaat? You are impossible”.

-M: “You started it. And yet you think I am a ‘possible’. Otherwise, why would you want to go on a date with me?.”

-J: “True. It’s about time we have a conversation away from the elevator and halls”.

-M: “I know it is going to be fun….whatever we do”.

-J: “What makes you so sure?”

-M: “That is for me to know and for you to…”

-J: “Experiment? Oh, so am I now the lab rat?”

-M: “…Hummm…your words…not mine”.

-J: “Well, rats don’t take ladies to nice dates”.

-M: “Are you sure about that? I’ve dated a few rats in my day…haha.”

-J: “In that case, I choose to be the rat from Ratatouille…cute, agile and talented.”

-M: (Wow…silence…smiling shyly. No way was I going to make eye contact after his unexpected cuteness left me speechless. It’s more than a hopeless romantic like me can handle at this point).

-J: “Have I actually managed to win an argument for once? No sarcastic replies? Ratatouille has its ways…”

-M: “Hummmm….your words…not mine, haha”.

-J: “Very well. Lobby at 6:00 tomorrow?”

-M: “Lobby at 6:00”.

-J: “…And don’t go dressing all dolled up and cute. I must be on my game to battle your tricksy ways. You are already distracting as it is…”

-M: “That‘s the idea Ratatouille. That’s exactly the idea”.

-J: “Good night babe”.

-M: “Good night Jack. Sweet dreams”.

-J: “The sweetest dreams babe…the sweetest”.

THE END

Copyright Juliana M. Martinez Fajardo

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by julianamartinezfajardo. Bookmark the permalink.

About julianamartinezfajardo

To make the disclamer that I am indeed a professional writer, would be a big fat lie. To share my life adventures in writing and make you want to keep reading is a better way to illustrate how the lenses of my bi-cultural, bi-racial, bi-lingual life will draw you in. Living a "dual" life is an interesting proposition after all. It is my writing how I choose to engage with the world and document it for my loved ones...while managing to get a smile out of you. If while reading my blog, you in fact smile, laugh uncontrollably and dry the tears of joy from your eyes, drop me a line. It will make my day. Gracias visitante.

2 thoughts on “Elevator Chat, Part II

Leave a Reply

