Out of Breath

Out of breath, dizzy, crazy,

All the feelings that she gave me.

 

Sad and angry, lost and lonely,

How I felt when she first told me.

 

Out of breath, dying slowly.

Love is something almost holy.

 

She destroyed it, killed the dream.

Out of breath, I try to scream.

 

If there was a perfect moment,

One that I could frame and own it,

 

A single, sacred memory

Would be enough to set me free.

 

If she would call me one more time

With some excuse, some worn out line,

 

I would be quick to forgive her,

Order flowers to deliver,

 

Sing the songs that make her laugh,

Buy a cookie, give her half.

 

If she would park outside my door,

I could find a little more

 

Love like white wine, rain and sunshine,

Paintings, photos, valentines.

 

Out of breath, dizzy, crazy,

All the feelings that she gave me.

 

Copyright Tim D.

One thought on “Out of Breath

Leave a Reply

