I will always love you

Here I sit falling in love with you.
I will never tell you like so many gutless men before me.
I will fall in love and never speak of it.
That love sits quietly repressed in the heart.
Unspoken, unrequited, untouchable.
I will never tell you, for so many reasons.
You have a lover.
You are younger.
You are to beautiful.
I have seen death.
I have lived with death.
I am immortal because of it.
You are a delicate flower that should not be crushed.
I would crush you with my sadness.
I would crush you with my fear.
I would crush you with my want.
I will not tell you.
I will watch you grow.
I will watch you flourish.
I will watch you find another love.
I will watch you live your life.
I will watch you find the shortness of your life.
I will watch you find death.
I am immortal.
I will watch you be reborn and I will fall in love with you again.

Copyright Don MacLeod

5 thoughts on “I will always love you

Leave a Reply

