Lazy Writer’s Lament

As a writer [or so I brazenly call myself],
I find myself so often torn
between my desire, my need,
my keening and yearning to produce
the great American something-or-other
and my laziness, my fear,
or my willingness to be seduced
by the latest Top Ten Bestsellers by real writers
who actually write, who put discipline and duty
before pleasure, leisure, and procrastination;
workers of words, their clay and their putty,
so that when they are done,
they may sit back and smile
at their children, their progeny,
lined up on shelves,
real volumes, pompous and pretty.

— Elaine Pedersen ©

Leave a Reply

