She’s the Sun

The problem is,

and always has been,

I wanna fall in love

like it’s a movie.

 

I give myself away too fast,

invest too much emotion,

curse our chances with

deep blue expectations.

 

I need to hold back,

stay away for a while,

keep one or two secrets,

distance and zen.

 

But I can’t do that when

I look into her eyes.

They make me high.

I’m a prisoner now.

 

Will she ever understand it?

She’s the sun and I’m her planet.

She told me she would try to

but she don’t dream like I do.

 

-Copyright Timothy Downs

 

 

Leave a Reply

