The door to infinity

The door to infinity opened this morning

It opened down not sideways like a normal door, which was curious

Light spilled from it gently, beckoning

Whispering in words only my heart could understand

The world around the door became more alive, but the light called

Not like a Siren’s call, but like a mother soothing a babies cry

I knew this is what I had always wanted

I knew this is what everyone wanted

I was being given a gift, a chance, an opportunity

Thoughts, doubts, fears were nowhere to be seen

I could gaze at this doorway forever or I could go in

There was no question, even though I knew I would lose myself completely

There would be no more I

I went to the doorway and was taken in

Copyright Don MacLeod

One thought on “The door to infinity

Leave a Reply

