“How Are You Feeling?”

He asked me, “how are you feeling, and were you feeling all right when you came in this morning?” I wanted to slam the phone on the top of my desk and say to him…”listen Doc, I was fine when I came to your office, aside from the fact that you made me wait to eat until after our appointment and so I hadn’t had anything including coffee now in over eleven hours, then you slammed a needle into my arm a few times, took seven viles of my apparently red cell deficient precious blood, poked around where no one else dares to go (enter snap of rubber glove), told me there is a possibility I may have a tumor up in there because my red blood cells have dropped through the floor and then sent me back to work.”

Now you might be thinking that he probably wouldn’t hear me at this point because I would have already slammed the phone on the top of my desk, deal with it, it’s an irrational story.

So yeah, I felt fine when I woke up this morning lying next to my honey who was whispering in a sleepy voice “have a good day love”, now I sit at work with a headache, a sore arm from the blood draw, a sore shoulder from the Pneumonia vaccine looking up side effects of taking Ferrous Sulfate my doctor insists I begin taking immediately wondering what in the hell he is thinking (insert deep breath here) calling me an hour after I leave his office to ask me how I am “really” feeling. You know that scene from the 1990 movie Home Alone when Macaulay Culkin runs from room to room screaming? Picture him at forty nine, in an office setting with a pocket protector and a ten o’clock shadow. Yeah that happened.

 

One thought on ““How Are You Feeling?”

Leave a Reply

